top of page

Welcome to the Wandering Jew

Catch the travel bug

the Wandering Jew

Catch the travel bug

Welcome to the Wondering Jew travel blog. Get inspired to plan your next adventure!

  • Writer's pictureSam Eisenberg

Book Review - The Balkans by Misha Glenny


Before having originally come to the Balkans, I had assumed I was pretty informed about the region; various different ethnic groups who just don't get along. Boy was I wrong! Misha Glenny's "The Balkans" gives a comprehensive overview of the complex, intertwining histories of all the Balkan countries, extending from the Greek Peninsula, to the coasts of the Anatolia, all the way to the Danube, which runs through both Serbia and Romania. Not only is Glenny's book thorough in its detailing Balkan history and explaining national rivalries, it is also thought-provoking and entertaining. In many ways, it serves almost as a layman's guide to the Balkans. After reading this book, I now feel more confident discussing history and politics with the people around me and I don't feel nearly as much as a half-wit when sharing my opinions. I must also admit that I had underestimated Glenny, expecting him to only have been interesting on paper, but after seeing his TED Talk discussing his Portuguese experiences, I not only found his personality to be incredibly engaging, but quite funny and entertaining as well. Discovering that we both have a passion for the TV series "Breaking Bad" and language learning, I have come to respect Glenny both as an exceptional writer to which I aim to achieve and as a fellow polyglot. If you're planning a trip to the Balkans, I strongly suggest that you pick up his newly-updated edition as it will give you a clear vision to the events that have transpired here on the Balkan Peninsula.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe

Contact

Prishtina

Your details were sent successfully!

IMG_1811.JPG
Home: Contact
bottom of page